Which somatic therapy certification should I choose?
By Konstantin Kaufmann · Reviewed by Katherine Kaufmann, certified NARM practitioner ·
No somatic certificate is a state license, and several programs admit only certain professional roles. If you are not licensed, check entry rules first. NARM Therapist Training is designed for licensed mental-health professionals, current mental-health graduate students, and active clinical interns or trainees, while the 60-hour NARM-Informed track is offered to a range of helping professionals in a live online format1. Then compare the full commitment. SEI's SEP certificate needs 216 training hours plus 12 hours of personal sessions and 18 consultation credit hours2, while Antioch University's certificate is three courses over three months for $1,9503.
Which program can I enroll in with my current role?
Each row gives the institute's own entry rule on the date checked. The comparison covers 11 programs from ten institutes and does not rank them.
| Program | Who may enroll, per the institute | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| NARM-Informed Professional Training | A range of helping professionals, in a live online format1 | 2026-10-09 |
| NARM Therapist Training | Licensed mental-health professionals, current mental-health graduate students, and active clinical interns or trainees1 | 2026-10-09 |
| SE Professional Training (SEI) | Applicants "must be certified professionals with an active practice". The list names mental-health and medical professionals, bodyworkers, and others such as coaches. Students in a related field may get an exception4. The same page says "At this time we do not offer courses for non-clinicians"4 | 2026-10-10 |
| Sensorimotor Psychotherapy Level One | People legally permitted to practice psychotherapy, people in qualifying graduate programs, or people on an active postgraduate qualification pathway5 | 2026-10-09 |
| Antioch University, Certificate in Somatic Psychotherapy and Practices | An existing master's degree in psychology or a related field3 | 2026-10-10 |
| Polyvagal Institute, Polyvagal Certificate Course | "a broad audience" that wants to apply polyvagal principles personally or at work6 | 2026-10-10 |
| Hakomi, Core Energetics, bioenergetic analysis, Strozzi, Soma+IQ | See the Hakomi, Core Energetics, bioenergetic analysis, somatic coaching and breathwork guides | Not stated here |
What the table means by role (our reading, not institute advice):
- A licensed mental-health clinician with an active practice meets every entry rule in the table.
- A certified coach or bodyworker with an active practice appears in SEI's list of professions, but the same page says SEI does not offer courses for non-clinicians4. Ask SEI admissions before you apply. NARM Therapist Training and Sensorimotor Level One stay closed unless you can legally practice psychotherapy or are in a qualifying graduate program.
- Without an active practice, SEI says its training is "not suitable" for you, unless you are a student in a related field, where SEI may grant an exception4. NARM-Informed and the Polyvagal Institute course have no such rule on the pages we checked.
- A graduate student in mental health can apply to NARM Therapist Training and may meet Sensorimotor's graduate route1, 5. NARM also offers students and clinical interns a 20% discount on NARM-Informed7.
How much time does each program take?
A Polyvagal Institute cohort meets for 20 hours of live classes and discussions (our sum of the institute's schedule), while the New York bioenergetics society asks for at least four years6, 8.
| Program | Length, per the institute | Format |
|---|---|---|
| Polyvagal Institute course | 9 live classes of 2 hours and 2 live discussions of 1 hour, plus a 90-minute practice pod each month. The page states "over 30 hours of course time"6 | Live online6 |
| Antioch certificate | Three courses over three months, 30 continuing education units3 | Three online residencies3 |
| NARM-Informed | 60 hours1 | Live online1 |
| NARM Therapist Training | 120 hours1 | In person, hybrid or virtual1 |
| SEI | 216 contact hours in 6 to 8 modules, depending on the country2. Typically eight modules spread over 2.5 to 3 years9 | Some US modules online, some in person. Advanced modules are "almost always in person"10 |
| Hakomi Comprehensive Training | Usually 60 training days and 325 contact hours across two years11 | Not stated on the page cited |
| Core Energetics practitioner certification | Four years in total, building on the two-year program12 | Not stated on the page cited |
| New York Society for Bioenergetic Analysis | A minimum of four years8. This is the New York society's own program. Other societies may set other lengths | Not stated on the page cited |
What does each program cost beyond tuition?
These are the prices each institute published on the day we checked. We do not add module or yearly prices into a program total, because a total would mix today's prices with future ones.
| Program | Quoted price | Not in that price | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| NARM-Informed, Spring 2027 cohort | $1,676 paid in full, plus a $100 non-refundable application fee7 | Not stated on the page cited | 2026-10-09 |
| SEI, US modules | $1,180 per Beginning or Intermediate module and $1,650 per Advanced module at regular registration. Early registration is $50 less per module. A $49 non-refundable application fee applies in the US4, 10 | Travel, room and board, and mandatory retreat center fees10. SEI lists the 12 session hours and 18 consultation credit hours under other costs, with fees set by each provider10 | 2026-10-10 |
| Antioch certificate | $1,950. Federal financial aid is not available3 | Not stated on the page cited | 2026-10-10 |
| Soma+IQ, online | $3,000 as a one-time payment13 | Not stated on the page cited | 2026-10-09 |
| Sensorimotor Level One, February to June 2026 cohort (finished, historical price) | $3,30014 | Fees for the 3 required consultation hours14 | 2026-10-09 |
| New York Society for Bioenergetic Analysis | $3,000 a year, including membership in the International Institute8 | Not stated on the page cited | 2026-10-09 |
| Hakomi Level One, Central Team cohort, November 2026 to October 2027 | $5,495 tuition15. Certification later costs a $135 fee16 | Travel, food and lodging for the in-person module15 | 2026-10-09 |
| Core Energetics, 2026-27 year | $6,000 tuition, plus a non-refundable $125 application fee12 | Room and board, individual or group sessions, and supervision sessions12 | 2026-10-09 |
| Strozzi Somatic Coach Certification | $18,325 standard tuition, with a 5% discount for payment in full17 | Lodging and travel to the venue17 | 2026-10-09 / 2026-10-10 |
What must I finish besides classroom hours?
At SEI and Hakomi, classroom hours alone do not complete the credential.
SEI's certificate requires 12 hours of personal sessions and 18 credit hours of case consultation, both from approved providers2. Add these hours to SEI's module list before you compare it with a cohort price such as NARM's.
Hakomi certification starts after you complete one of its multi-year training programs and depends on "demonstrated proficiency in the method, rather than a set number of training hours"16, so the end date is not fixed in advance.
Is a certificate the same as certification or a license?
No. Three institutes state limits in writing.
The NARM Training Institute "does not offer certification" and awards Professional Certificates to people who complete its programs and requirements1, and the Polyvagal Institute says its certificate "does not offer licensure or 'certification' of any kind"6. The Polyvagal Institute adds that no organization offers a process to become a "certified polyvagal therapist"6. SEI calls itself "not a regulatory or licensing entity" and tells participants they must work within their own scope of practice and follow state and federal laws4. Hakomi does use the word certification, and the Hakomi Institute awards it for demonstrated proficiency in its own method16.
Whether you may offer somatic sessions for pay depends on your state's law and on any license you hold. A certificate from an institute does not settle that question. Our state guides quote the statutes for California, Colorado, New York, Oregon and Washington.
Will my licensing board count the hours as continuing education?
Ask your board before you enroll. Antioch's certificate carries 30 continuing education units for LMFTs, LCSWs and LPCCs3, but Antioch writes that applicability "varies by licensing board" and that participants must verify acceptance with their board3. We did not check CE approval for the other programs.
Which detailed guide should I read next?
Pick by the entry rule you meet and the years you can give. These pointers are our editorial reading of the facts above.
- If you hold a mental-health license and want a trauma method for client sessions, read Somatic Experiencing training and NARM training. Add Sensorimotor Psychotherapy training if you can legally practice psychotherapy.
- Without an active practice, SEI rules itself out for you unless you are a student in a related field, where SEI may grant an exception4. Start with NARM training for the NARM-Informed track or the polyvagal-informed training guide.
- Coaches: a coaching background alone does not meet the entry rule of NARM Therapist Training or Sensorimotor Level One. Strozzi says ICF recognizes its program as an Accredited Coach Training Program17. Check ICF's own directory for the current accreditation level, then read somatic coaching certification.
- Hakomi training, Core Energetics training and bioenergetic analysis training suit you if you want a long method training and can give two to four years.
- Breath is your main tool? Read somatic breathwork training.
Once you finish one of these trainings, you can claim a free profile on OneSomatic, which shows as verified after OneSomatic reviews proof of your completed somatic training18. A verified profile confirms your somatic training, but it does not by itself confirm a state license18.
Sources
- NARM Training Institute, "FAQs". Checked .
- Somatic Experiencing International, "Graduation Requirements". Checked .
- Antioch University, "Certificate in Somatic Psychotherapy and Practices". Checked .
- Somatic Experiencing International, "Prospective Students". Checked .
- Sensorimotor Psychotherapy Institute, "Admissions". Checked .
- Polyvagal Institute, "PVI Certificate Course". Checked .
- NARM Training Institute, "NARM-Informed Professional Training". Checked .
- New York Society for Bioenergetic Analysis, "Training". Checked .
- Somatic Experiencing International, "Training Policy Handbook" (October 2025). Checked .
- Somatic Experiencing International, "Tuition and Support". Checked .
- Hakomi Institute, "Training". Checked .
- Core Energetics, "4-Year Program". Checked .
- Somatic Breathwork, "Soma+IQ online offer". Checked .
- Sensorimotor Psychotherapy Institute, "SPI Training Details - Welcome". Checked .
- Hakomi Institute, "Central Team Comprehensive Training, Level 1, U.S.A". Checked .
- Hakomi Institute, "Path to Certification". Checked .
- Strozzi Institute, "Somatic Coach Certification". Checked .
- OneSomatic, "Facts". Checked .
Related guides
- What does NARM training cost, and which track can I take?
- Is there a polyvagal certification, and what does training cost?
- What does Sensorimotor Psychotherapy training require and cost?
- Which somatic coaching certification should I choose?
- What does Somatic Experiencing training cost, and who can apply?