Skip to content
OneSomatic
Guides

What does Core Energetics training require and cost?

By Konstantin Kaufmann · Reviewed by Katherine Kaufmann, certified NARM practitioner ·

The Institute of Core Energetics lists $6,000 tuition for the 2026-27 year, plus a non-refundable $125 application fee1. Every program year also requires personal sessions with a certified Core Energetics practitioner, and those sessions, supervision in Years 3 and 4, and room and board all cost extra1, 2.

How is the four-year certification built?

The 4-Year Practitioner Certification Program builds on the institute's 2-Year Personal Transformation & Development Program1. In the institute's words, the first two years change "how you inhabit your own life", and Years 3 and 4 "teach you how to hold space for others"1. In those later years, students begin to work with real clients under supervision from certified practitioners1.

All training happens on residential weekend retreats at Wisdom House in Litchfield, Connecticut1. The 2-Year page caps a group at 20 participants3. The 2026-27 application form gave October 9, 2026 as its deadline2. Ask the institute when the next intake opens, what its tuition is and what its retreat calendar is. The figures on this page are for 2026-27.

Who can apply?

Applicants must be at least 21 and need two letters of recommendation from people outside their family2.

The 4-Year page speaks to therapists and coaches who want a body-based method, and it also invites people who "come from any field"1. Neither program page names a license or a degree as an entry condition1, 3. The application asks you to list any licenses, degrees or certifications2. What a graduate without a license may do with clients depends on state law (see the state section below).

How many personal and supervision sessions must you complete?

In each program year, students complete personal growth sessions with a Certified Core Energetics Practitioner in good standing2. Under the individual option, that means 24 sessions a year, or about two a month2. The application also lists options that combine individual sessions with other session types2.

Years 3 and 4 add individual supervision. The minimum is 10 sessions in Year 3 and 12 in Year 42. The institute says session-type options for these requirements become available once you enroll2.

Both kinds of session cost extra1. The program pages give no price for either, so ask two or three certified practitioners for their session fee before you apply. That fee is the largest unknown in the budget below.

What does one program year cost, and what sits outside tuition?

Checked on the program pages October 10, 2026, and the application form October 9, 2026.

ItemYears 1 and 2Years 3 and 4Price on the institute's pages
Tuition, 2026-27 year$6,0003$6,0001Listed. Payment plans are available1
Application fee$125, once, with your application1Not statedListed
Room and board at Wisdom HouseExtra3Extra1Not listed
Personal sessions24 a year, or a listed combination224 a year, or a listed combination2Not listed
Individual supervisionNot in the 2-Year cost list3At least 10 in Year 3, at least 12 in Year 42Not listed
Required texts and training manualsEach year1Each year1Not listed

Fill in one program year before you apply:

  1. Tuition: $6,000.
  2. Application fee (paid once, with the application): $125.
  3. Room and board for the retreat weekends (ask the institute): ______
  4. Personal sessions: 24 × your practitioner's fee = ______
  5. Supervision, Year 3 or Year 4 only: 10 or 12 × your supervisor's fee = ______
  6. Texts and training manuals: ______
  7. Travel to and from Litchfield, Connecticut: ______

By our arithmetic at the 2026-27 prices, the first year starts at $6,000 tuition + $125 application fee = $6,1251. At a session fee of $100, line 4 alone would add $2,400. Replace that example with the fee your practitioner quotes. This guide gives no four-year total, because the institute lists tuition for 2026-27 only.

Tuition is non-refundable1. The institute offers scholarships, and to be considered for financial aid, your application must arrive by August 151. The page gives no year for this deadline. Ask the institute whether it applies to the next intake.

Is there another Core Energetics training in the US?

Next Generation Core in Falls Church, Virginia, runs a separate program. Its certification students complete Core Energetics sessions, and it meets for five long weekends a year4, 5.

Institute of Core EnergeticsNext Generation Core
PlaceWisdom House, Litchfield, Connecticut, residential1Falls Church, Virginia. Lodging, transportation and meals are not provided4
Length2-year track, then 4 years in total for certification1Two-year program. Tuition is per year, and a one-year commitment is possible5
Tuition, 2026-27$6,00012026-27 cohort, already started: $4,500 early bird, $4,750 regular, $5,000 late4, 5
Application fee$125, non-refundable1$100, non-refundable5
Personal sessions for certification24 individual a year, or a combination224 a year, or 18 individual plus 10 group or 10 couples sessions5
SupervisionAt least 10 in Year 3 and 12 in Year 42Not stated on the pages checked
CredentialA practitioner credential, per the 4-Year page1"Professional certification". The pages checked do not say who issues it5

Next Generation Core states that practitioner fees vary and sit outside tuition5. Its 2026-27 cohort opened with a May 1-3, 2026 weekend, so that year is already under way4. The pages checked did not post 2027-28 prices. By our arithmetic at prices checked on 2026-10-10, Next Generation Core's tuition was $1,000 to $1,500 lower1, 5. Before you choose it for a professional credential, ask who issues the certificate and whether the Institute of Core Energetics recognizes it.

Does the certificate let you practice in your state?

The institute issues its own practitioner credential1. By our reading, the program pages we checked on 2026-10-10 name no state board and no state license1. Whether you may see clients depends on your state and on any license you already hold.

On OneSomatic, a verified profile confirms somatic training. It does not by itself confirm a state license6. In your state guide, check two questions: what you may call your work, and whether the state regulates touch.

Our state guides set out what the law says, with the statute sections: California, Colorado, New York, Oregon and Washington. Read yours before you plan a practice around this certificate.

Who should choose a different training?

This is an editorial view, based on the requirements above.

Disclosure: Katherine Kaufmann, who advises OneSomatic on clinical quality and is married to the author, trained in Core Energetics at the Netherlands Institute of Core Energetics6.

If you already hold a somatic training certificate, you can claim a free verified profile on OneSomatic. OneSomatic reviews proof of completed training before it shows a profile as verified6.

Sources

  1. Institute of Core Energetics, "4-Year Practitioner Certification Program". Checked .
  2. Institute of Core Energetics, "2026-2027 Program Application". Checked .
  3. Institute of Core Energetics, "2-Year Personal Transformation & Development Program". Checked .
  4. Next Generation Core, "Program Logistics". Checked .
  5. Next Generation Core, "Tuition". Checked .
  6. OneSomatic, "Facts". Checked .